Alumni News

Congratulations to the Graduates of the Class of 2016!
Posted 06/10/2016 01:03PM

Wooster School held its Commencement Exercises on Friday, June 10, 2016 to celebrate the graduation of the Class of 2016. These seniors join more than 3,000 alumni who have graduated since Wooster's founding in 1926.

The ceremony featured a number of speakers, and the awarding of prizes and diplomas. President of the Wooster School Board of Trustees, Jim Mustich offered kind words to Wooster's soon-to-be graduates. "The goal - and the gift - of education, it seems to me, is to teach you how to become real in your own imagination, rather than solely in the thoughts and opinions of others."

Christopher Pannone, Head of Middle and Upper Schools announced the honorees for, "Crayons to Commencement," commending students who began their Wooster careers in the Lower School. Prizes were given out for outstanding Senior Independent Study projects, academic achievements, and awards of character, followed by an address by the class orators, Abigail Curillo '16 and Jacob Goldsmith '16. "Some of us will be going far away, some of us will be close to home, but most importantly most of us will be making this world into a better place," remarked Curillo. "Being part of the Wooster community, has given us many things. It has helped shape the young adults we are becoming. It has nurtured our spirit and inspired us to go after our dreams," noted Goldsmith.

Last but not least, before the seniors received their diplomas, Head of School Matt Byrnes spoke to the graduating class. "I wish you a life of dreams and the contentment that comes when your reality meets those dreams in the waking world. I wish you the courage to meet your dreams - and the world - in a way that gives your life meaning and purpose, and fulfillment," Byrnes remarked. He added, "I believe that you are wide awake and that you are ready. Best of luck."

Congratulations to the Great Class of 2016 for all of their accomplishments!

Wooster School Class of 2016

Kai Aronson

Elizabeth Ashton

Harrison Becker

Charles Corper

Abigail Curillo

Jada Cushnie

Yijie Dai

Yi Deng

Meredith Fanning

Jacob Goldsmith

Trevor Jones

Anna Krzyzewski

Lauren Kupferschmid

Max Levine

Xinya Li

Jamie MacNutt

Kathryn Madaloni

Tyler Marcos

Sarah Marcus

Danielle Martin

Matthew McCutcheon

Morgan Mettler

Edward Montalvo

Cole Munk

Cali Nathanson

Nicholai Nosworthy

Annie Novy

Lauren Novy

Lukas Palumbo

Jeb Perera

Leonard Reid

Joanelle Tran

Glenn Unger

Siqi Wang

Nicholas Williams

Aaron Young

Class of 2016 Awards and Prizes

Top Award Recipients (Announced at Commencement):

William Irwin Carter, Jr. Prize - Cali Nathanson

Eugenia Coburn Prize - Max Levine

Aaron C. Coburn Award - Nick Williams

James Hobart Warner Prize - Glenn Unger

Honor Award - Anna Krzyzewski

Senior Class Awards (Announced at the Senior Class Awards Evening)

History and Social Studies Prize - Aaron Young

Donald G. Schwartz '36 Award for Excellence in 12th Grade English - Cali Nathanson

John D. Verdery Prize in Religion - Trevor Jones

Vinny Puma Spanish Prize - Jada Cushnie

Fairfield County Medical Association Biological Science Award - Morgan Mettler

Jeremy Acheson Platt '51 Memorial Award for Prolonged Dedication to the Sciences - Kathryn Madaloni, Glenn Unger

John Hart Spittle '37 Prize for Excellence in Science - Anna Krzyzewski

'44 Award for Excellence in Mathematics - Yijie Dai

A.J. Liebling Journalism Prize - Max Levine

Technology Award - Tyler Marcos

Stephen Logan '74 Art Award - Meredith Fanning

Art Award - Lucas Palumbo

Art Department Chair's Recognition Award - Trevor Jones

Cordelia Manning Award for Service to the Arts - Harrison Becker

Music Prize - Leonard Reid

Scott Schwartz '91 Theatre Prize - Nick Williams

Technology Theatre Award - Annie Novy

Athletic Commitment Recognition - Cole Munk

Edward W. Robinson '37 Award - Aaron Young, Anna Krzyzewski

J. William Nystrom, Sr. '47 Scholar/Athlete Prize - Elizabeth Ashton, Jeb Perera

Thomas Wilcox '66 Award for School Spirit in Competitive Athletics - Jamie MacNutt, Max Levine

Alvah Jessup '49 Award for Outstanding Athlete - Cole Munk, Elizabeth Ashton

James S. Hammer '63 Award - Sarah Marcus

Cum Laude Society - Elizabeth Ashton, Yijie Dai, Cali Nathanson, Jeb Perera, Joanelle Tran, Nicholas Williams, Aaron Young

Office of Advancement Contacts

Chris Pannone

Associate Head of School
and Chief Advancement Officer

Shannon Prohaszka

Chief Development Officer

Abigail Ford

Assistant Director of Development

Anne Gilson

Advancement Event Assistant

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite