Alumni News

Congratulations to the Graduates of the Class of 2018!
Posted 06/08/2018 12:37PM

Wooster School held its Commencement Exercises on Friday, June 8, 2018 to celebrate the graduation of the Class of 2018. These seniors join more than 3,000 alumni who have graduated since Wooster's founding in 1926.

The ceremony featured a number of speakers, and the awarding of prizes and diplomas. President of the Wooster School Board of Trustees, Leon Weaver offered kind words to Wooster's soon-to-be graduates. "I bring greetings and warm congratulations, and recognition of all your hard work and success."

Christopher Pannone, Head of Middle and Upper Schools announced the honorees for, "Crayons to Commencement," commending students who began their Wooster careers in the Lower School. Prizes were given out for outstanding Senior Independent Study projects, academic achievements, and awards of character, followed by an address by the class orator, Daniel Michael '18. "We may be graduating, but remember: we are works in progress. So often in life it feels as if everyone around you knows exactly what they want to do and has a five-step plan to do it, " remarked Michael. "My advice to you: Embrace it. Drink it up. Make it your home. We are about to embark on the only 4 years of our lives where new opportunities are basically thrown at you and every person you meet has the potential to change the course of your life. Try new things, take risks, dream big, and use your ~skills and dispositions~ to practice tolerance with ambiguity. Have the courage to find out who you truly are." he added.

Last but not least, before the seniors received their diplomas, Head of School Matt Byrnes spoke to the graduating class. "College is your time to explore and work in many different ways and learn how to listen for the kinds of work that call to you. The kinds of work upon which you might want to build your future life. As you head into the open ocean that is college, learning and listening for the call of your vocations, you need to create nets for catching your days. Create habits and routines. Have a schedule that preserves your time," Byrnes remarked. He added, "You can do it now, while you are young. You can speed your epiphany. Each day will matter. Your present time and how you choose to spend it is where your true leverage will be. So as you leave here, focus on how you live your days, so that they create a life that you will be happy to have lived. A life that will have a shape and contours that you can recognize and celebrate because you were thoughtful and intentional about the habits which resulted in its design."

Congratulations to the Great Class of 2018 for all of their accomplishments!

Wooster School Class of 2018

Renata Abiali

Laura Arzola

Emmanuella Aspras

Gabriella Binghi

Brett Brownstein

Brianna Cacciola

Joshua Carone

Haktan Ceylan

Hayden DellaCamera

Olivia Edelman

Juan Carlos Espinoza

Elizabeth Fanzilli

Lucas Fink

Charles Gabrik

Christopher Gephart

Emily Glazer

Kylie Heneghan

Colwyn Hollett

Kang (Kevin) Hou

Ruiying Huang

Mingxin (Cindy) Li

Tianyi (Leo) Liu

Yiyang (Sunny) Liu

Jacqueline Logsted

Qianchen (Messon) Ma

Caylynn Maldonado

Caterina Mattio

Ian McBrayer

Morgan McCutcheon

Krishna McKinney

Daniel Michael

Silas Munk

Cosme Navarro

Peter Nekos

Justin Nguyen

Elizabeth Nicoletti

Owen O'Connell

Hannah Price

Brandon Reid

Brittany Reid

Tess Riley

Drew Schnaudigel

Thomas Shea

Ben Staw

Alexander Stein

Caitlyn Strauss

Holly Tomiano

Bennett Wattles

Liam Weaver

Jarrett White

Nicholas Wyckoff

Class of 2018 Awards and Prizes

Top Award Recipients (Announced at Commencement):

William Irwin Carter, Jr. Prize - Daniel Michael

Eugenia Coburn Prize - Ruiying Huang

Aaron C. Coburn Award - Caylynn Maldonado, Hannah Price

James Hobart Warner Prize - Renata Abiali

Honor Award - Gib Shea

Senior Independent Study Commendations - Emily Glazer, Yiyang (Sunny) Liu, Drew Schnaudigel, Nick Wyckoff

Senior Class Awards (Announced at the Senior Class Awards Evening)

History and Social Studies Prize - Silas Munk

Donald G. Schwartz '36 Award for Excellence in 12th Grade English - Emily Glazer

John D. Verdery Prize in Religion - Emmanuella Aspras

Josette Eynon Prize for Excellence in Foreign Languages - Renata Abiali

Vinny Puma Spanish Prize - Bennett Wattles

Fairfield County Medical Association Biological Science Award - Emily Glazer, Daniel Michael

Jeremy Acheson Platt '51 Memorial Award for Prolonged Dedication to the Sciences - Kylie Heneghan

John Hart Spittle '37 Prize for Excellence in Science - Brandon Reid

'44 Award for Excellence in Mathematics - Daniel Michael

Journalism Prize - Jacqueline Logsted

Technology Award - Ben Staw

Stephen Logan '74 Art Award - Yiyang (Sunny) Liu

Art Award - Qianchen (Messon) Ma

Cordelia Manning Award for Service to the Arts - Yiyang (Sunny) Liu

Music Prize - Brandon Reid, Brittany Reid, Caitlyn Strauss

Scott Schwartz '91 Theatre Prize - Tess Riley

Technology Theatre Award - Juan Carlos Espinoza

Athletic Commitment Award - Joshua Carone, Christopher Gephart, Ruiying Huang, Morgan McCutcheon, Silas Munk, Elizabeth Nicoletti, Brandon Reid, Brittany Reid, Bennett Wattles

Edward W. Robinson '37 Award - Renata Abiali, Drew Schnaudigel

J. William Nystrom, Sr. '47 Scholar/Athlete Prize - Silas Munk, Brittany Reid

Thomas Wilcox '66 Award for School Spirit in Competitive Athletics - Christopher Gephart, Caylynn Maldonado

Alvah Jessup '49 Award for Outstanding Athlete - Joshua Carone, Morgan McCutcheon

James S. Hammer '63 Award - Peter Nekos

Cum Laude Society - Renata Abiali, Emmanuella Aspras, Kylie Heneghan, Ruiying Huang, Mingxin (Cindy) Li, Yiyang (Sunny) Liu, Qianchen (Messon) Ma, Ian McBrayer, Daniel Michael, Silas Munk, Owen O'Connell, Brandon Reid

Office of Advancement Contacts

Chris Pannone

Associate Head of School
and Chief Advancement Officer

Shannon Prohaszka

Chief Development Officer

Abigail Ford

Assistant Director of Development

Anne Gilson

Advancement Event Assistant

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite