Alumni News Archive

Congratulations to the Graduates of the Class of 2015!
Posted 06/12/2015 12:36PM

Wooster School held its Commencement Exercises on Friday, June 12, 2015 to celebrate the graduation of the Class of 2015. These seniors join more than 3,000 alumni who have graduated since Wooster's founding in 1926.

The ceremony featured a number of speakers, and the awarding of prizes and diplomas. David Newman, Head of Middle and Upper Schools announced the honorees for, "Crayons to Commencement," commending students who began their Wooster careers in the Lower School. Senior Prefect, Audrey Merchan '15, announced the senior class gift. Funds raised by the senior class were given as a cash donation to the Rashmie Secondary School, Kathmandu, Nepal. Prizes were given out for outstanding Senior Independent Study projects, academic achievements, and awards of character, followed by an address by the class orator, Zachary Karpen '15. "Most importantly, we were not taught what to learn, but how to learn. Not what to think, but how to think," Karpen noted.

Last but not least, before the seniors received their diplomas, Head of School Matt Byrnes spoke to the graduating class. "Some advice from someone who only took advantage of certain enrichment opportunities, and wishes he could do it all again: Be open to being interested...Leave your phone in your room," Byrnes remarked. He added, "Be in the moment with people and with ideas."

Congratulations to the Great Class of 2015 for all of their accomplishments!

Wooster School Class of 2015

Alexandra Marie Ambrosio

Philip Russell Beard

Oliver Maxwell Bratter

Drishti Choudhury

Emilee Rose Coladarci

Daniel John DeLuca

Hallie Elana Fuchs

Blair Catherine Hamilton

Alexander Dallas Hard

Melanie Elizabeth Hodor

Jessica Conway Jameson

Julia Louise Kalish

Zachary Sloan Karpen

Amber Lee March-Bruce

Audrey Daniella Merchan

Taylor Rose Milana

Mai Othman

Christopher Quinn Rynne

Isabella Santos

Jacob Morris Schwartz

Dimitris Diakidis Smith

Julia B. Smith

Shauna Reneé Vines

Amelia Beeson Williams

Class of 2015 Awards and Prizes

Top Award Recipients (Announced at Commencement):

William Irwin Carter, Jr. Prize - Julia Smith

Aaron C. Coburn Award - Julia Kalish, Taylor Milana

James Hobart Warner Prize - Dimitris Smith

Honor Award - Audrey Merchan

Senior Class Awards (Announced at the Senior Class Awards Evening)

Danbury Exchange Club's Carmen Melillo Scholarship - Blair Hamilton

AJ Leibling Journalism Prize - Julia Smith

Robert C. Wilson Prize for Mathematics - Zachary Karpen

History and Social Studies Prize - Taylor Milana

John D. Verdery Prize in Religion - Jacob Schwartz

Vinny Puma Spanish Prize - Daniel DeLuca

Josette Eynon Prize for Excellence in Foreign Languages - Drishti Choudhury

Fairfield County Medical Association Biological Science Award - Mai Othman

Jeremy Acheson Platt '51 Memorial Award for Prolonged Dedication to the Sciences - Hallie Fuchs

John Hart Spittle '37 Prize for Excellence in Science - Isabella Santos

'44 Award for Excellence in Mathematics - Blair Hamilton

Stephen Logan '74 Art Award - Julia Smith

Art Department Chair's Recognition Award - Taylor Milana

Scott Schwartz '91 Theatre Prize - Amber March-Bruce

Music Prize - Amber March-Bruce

Cordelia Manning Award for Service to the Arts - Drishti Choudhury

Edward W. Robinson '37 Award - Alexander Hard, Taylor Milana

J. William Nystrom, Sr. '47 Scholar/Athlete Prize - Daniel DeLuca, Isabella Santos

Thomas Wilcox '66 Award for School Spirit in Competitive Athletics - Christopher Rynne, Julia Kalish

Alvah Jessup '49 Award for Outstanding Athlete - Zachary Karpen, Blair Hamilton

James S. Hammer '63 Award - Alexandra Ambrosio

Cum Laude Society - Alexandra Ambrosio, Daniel DeLuca, Blair Hamilton, Julia Smith

Office of Advancement Contacts

Chris Pannone

Associate Head of School
and Chief Advancement Officer

Shannon Prohaszka

Chief Development Officer

Abigail Ford

Assistant Director of Development

Anne Gilson

Advancement Event Assistant

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite