Alumni News Archive

Congratulations to the Graduates of the Class of 2014!
Posted 06/13/2014 12:41PM

Wooster School Commencement 2014Wooster School held its Commencement Exercises on Friday, June 13, 2014, and celebrated the graduation of 32 students. These seniors join more than 3,000 alumni who have graduated since Wooster’s founding in 1926.

The ceremony featured a number of speakers, and the awarding of prizes and diplomas. President of the Wooster School Board of Trustees, Jim Mustich offered kind words to Wooster’s soon-to-be graduates. David Newman, Head of Upper School announced the honorees for, “Crayons to Commencement,” commending students who began their Wooster careers in the Lower School.

Senior Prefect, Lucy Kiely ‘14, announced the senior class gift. Funds raised by the senior class purchased a “Generals” mascot costume and will be given as a donation to the Wooster School Angel Fund. Prizes were given out for outstanding Senior Independent Study projects, academic achievements, and awards of character, followed by an address by the class orator, Steve DaSilva ’14.

Head of School Matt Byrnes presented the H. Korb Eynon Award, for enduring commitment and service to Wooster School, to Gaynor O’Neill, Assistant to the Head of Middle School.

Last but not least, before the seniors received their diplomas, Head of School Matt Byrnes spoke to the graduating class. “When you think you have figured it all out, and have seen it all, you’ve got an experience on your way that will disabuse you of that notion,” Byrnes remarked. He added, “The good life is full of the difficult and the unexpected, and about knowing what to be grateful for.”

Congratulations to the Great Class of 2014 for all of their accomplishments!

Wooster School Class of 2014

Benjamin Bratter

Darcy Curillo

Steven DaSilva

Johnathan Figueroa

Sawyer Gaines

Christopher George

Sophia Gianopoulos

AnnaBella Gillin

Elizabeth Hupper

Mackenzie Julo

Anna Lucia Kiely

Oliver Kisielius

Alec Lang

Rachel Levy

Robert Linden

Rachel Lynch

Katherine MacNutt

Ming Yang Mao

Caroline McArdle

Christian Mortera

Jada Nosworthy

Isabelle Ostertag

Allyn Pfeffer

Karamvir Singh

Maddie Sisco

Heather Skislock

Sage Solomine

Sara Svenningsen 

Gaurav Thakur

Isaiah Tsangaris

Lucas Winson

Mackenzie Xanthos

Class of 2014 Awards and Prizes

Top 5 Awards (Announced at Commencement):

William Irwin Carter, Jr. Prize - Oliver Kisielius

Eugenia Coburn Prize - Sage Solomine

Aaron C. Coburn Award - Rachel Lynch

James Hobart Warner Prize - Johnathan Figueroa

Honor Award - Anna Lucia Kiely 

Senior Class Awards (Announced at the Senior Class Awards Evening)

History and Social Studies Prize - Benjamin Bratter

John D. Verdery Prize in Religion - Isabelle Ostertag

French Prize - Caroline McArdle

Vinny Puma Spanish Prize - Robert Linden

Fairfield County Medical Association Biological Science Award - Caroline McArdle

Jeremy Acheson Platt ’51 Memorial Award for Prolonged Dedication to the Sciences - Darcy Curillo

John Hart Spittle ’37 Prize for Excellence in Science - Robert Linden

’44 Award for Excellence in Mathematics - Oliver Kisielius, Robert Linden

Donald G. Schwartz ’36 Award for Excellence in 12th Grade English - Caroline McArdle

Stephen Logan ’74 Art Award - Isaiah Tsangaris

Art Department Chair’s Recognition Award - Ming Yang Mao

Scott Schwartz ’91 Theatre Prize - Oliver Kisielius

Music Prize - Christian Mortera, Sara Svenningsen 

Cordelia Manning Award for Service to the Arts - Isabelle Ostertag

Edward W. Robinson ’37 Award - Lucas Winson, AnnaBella Gillin

J. William Nystrom, Sr. ’47 Scholar/Athlete Prize - Gaurav Thakur, Heather Skislock

Thomas Wilcox ’66 Award for School Spirit in Competitive Athletics - Johnathan Figueroa, Anna Lucia Kiely

Alvah Jessup ’49 Award for Outstanding Athlete - Lucas Winson, Katherine MacNutt

Athletic Commitment Award - Anna Lucia Kiely, Katherine MacNutt

James S. Hammer ’63 Award - Johnathan Figueroa

National Merit Scholarship Semi Finalist - Oliver Kisielius

Cum Laude Society - Oliver Kisielius, Robert Linden, Ming Yang Mao, Caroline McArdle, Isabelle Ostertag, Sage Solomine, Gaurav Thakur

Office of Advancement Contacts

Chris Pannone

Associate Head of School
and Chief Advancement Officer

Shannon Prohaszka

Chief Development Officer

Abigail Ford

Assistant Director of Development

Anne Gilson

Advancement Event Assistant

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite